Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
BorntoRun

Just another log... (UPDATE POST-TANE)

Hey! I decided to start my own log to keep track of stuff :) Same story as the rest of you and I don't want to write up a novel here so I'll just give highlights (I'm an accountant so I'm very much into short-and-sweet-and-straight-to-the-point)

Acne/History:

-Moderate persistent acne became 'bad' at the age of 18 and hasn't improved

-Tried everything else

-Successful with antibiotics but none of them work more than 2 months

-Self-Conscious enough to skip social events the past 2 years and have decided I'm just done with it.

-Have had a number of friends go through accutane successfully and hoping to add my story to theirs!

-Am a very serious runner (marathoner) and hoping that this won't completely kill my ability to race... but am willing to back down if necessary.

Treatment:

-Started on 60mg a month ago, experienced side effects so I quit the medication for a few weeks and then was bumped down to 30mg when I started up again.

-Dermatologist is trying to build me back up to 60mg/day but basically told me it's my choice as to when I want to up the dosage. Right now I'm comfortable on 30mg.

Side Effects:

-Dry Lips

-Stinging face when I forgot that I was on it and put BP on it one night (duh)

Highlight of today (Day #6): When I was rubbing lotion all over my face I guess I caught my lip with my nail and totally sliced it open :( I feel like my skin is scratching very easily. Grawr!

Edited by BorntoRun

So I originally meant to only update once a week but I've changed that to updating whenever there are new side effects.

Today's new side effects:

-CRAVING water (I normally never drink it)

-Aching lower back

And thank you Kell! I will be purchasing some of that later today, chap-stick aint doing it anymore!

Day #7

Updates: