Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Hey all, I've been guest-reading these forums for probably four years now, but I've never really had much to say until now.

I'm 23 and have had moderately severe acne since I was 12. My face was usually running the whole spectrum of painful cysts to blackheads and whiteheads. I'm a stubborn person and when I got a regimen or a medication I stuck to it and followed doctor's orders. I'm proud to say that my acne was not due to a lack of will and execution on my part. The problem is that I wasn't being treated for the underlying cause...which I'm sure many of you can relate to.

After 11 painful, disfiguring years, it turns out that my acne is solely caused by...dairy products.

After removing dairy completely from my diet for 6 months, my acne has disappeared. Any occasional zit I may get now I can always attribute to the inadvertent consumption of dairy (e.g. going to Olive Garden and not realizing even the marinara pastas are practically baked in cheese).

Things I have tried in strict regimen at one time or another:

Antibiotics

Retinoids

BHAs & AHAs

Oil cleansing

Changing all my cleansers and products to match that long list of "don'ts" on this forum

Not wearing makeup for three years

Azelaic acid

No-carb diet

GI diet

Vitamin supplements of all kinds

Proactive

Clean & Clear (salicylic acid)

After years of that, I stopped going to the doctor and I stopped doing anything about my acne. I just let it do its thing for a while. It stayed just as bad as it ever was. Getting tired of acne again, I did some research, read a study about acne and milk consumption, and feeling particularly desperate about the state of my skin that day, decided then and there to stop consuming dairy for the next 3 months.