Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Sconduct

Updated: Accutane Log 20/M

EDIT: My questions/inquiry post has become a personal log.

Hi all,

I'm a 19 year-old university student in Toronto. For the last 3 years or so, I've suffered from fairly mild yet consistent cystic acne. It actually isn't that bad at the moment, but at any given time, I usually have 3-5 cysts on either my cheeks or neck (yet my forehead is always clear). After trying numerous prescription topicals with no luck, my dermatologist has finally prescribed me a mild dose of Accutane to do the trick.

I am very, very nervous. I had the blood work done today and I'm not 100% sure yet if I'm going to go through with it. I go back next week to pick it up. I've tried Dan's BP regimen, which didn't do much. Then I was prescribed Clindoxyl for 3 months, which helped in a minor way but nothing terribly noticeable. Plus I think it was prolonging my red marks. Anywho...

My questions/comments/concerns:

1) Can I take a multivitamin (currently taking Jameson Regular Vita-Vims) on Accutane, or would the vitamin A in them be too risky? What vitamins can I use? Are there supplements you would recommend?

2) Should I stick with Cetaphil cleanser? I've gone back and forth between the oily/gentle versions but haven't noticed much difference.

3) I currently use Neutrogena Oil-Free moisturizer. Will I need a moisturizer for Accutane? If so, is this one alright?

4) Can I excersie/work out while on Accutane? I am 6'4", 195lbs and try to stay active by jogging. Will this be an issue?

5) Are there any products/techniques/words of wisdom you would recommend to a nervous newbie?

:) Thanks.

Edited by Sconduct

Hey dude,