Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Kate2288

Doxycycline Questions

Hi there, this is my first time posting but I have done lots of reading of other people's posts for some time now. I am on my third day of Doxycycline, with a dosage of 100mg twice per day. While I know it's too soon to see any results, I am the worrying type and I'm worried I'm never going to see any results with this ... especially because I've heard of some people who were "100% clear" by the third day, and I haven't noticed anything! Not even dryer skin ... nothing at all. Also, I do know that antibiotics are only a temporary fix, but I guess my hope is that I can keep it at bay either long enough to finally grow out it (although I'm 22 ... so puberty is long over for me), or long enough to get an OBGYN appointment, take birth control for a period of time, get a dermatologist appointment, get on Accutane, etc. That could all take up to half a year, if you think about it. Anyway, I have a couple questions for those who have taken Doxy before or are taking it now. If you can answer even one, that would be very helpful!

1) I'm worried it's not even absorbing. Did you take it with food? What food did you take it with? Was it still effective? I've already found that if I don't take it with something substantial, AKA not just crackers or pretzels, I'm going to throw it all up ... and I hate throwing up. This morning I took it with a bagel with butter/jelly, and was absolutely fine with no stomach issues, but am wondering if the calcium and other ingredients in what I ate is going to defeat the purpose of taking it. By the way, I know the butter is dairy but I reasoned that it was less dairy than cream cheese, which may or may not be true! I guess my thinking was that it's better to absorb at least a little of it then to throw it all back up :/