Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Hey there, all

I'm new to these boards, though I've been on stoppickingonme and skinpick. I've been battling SP for about 2 years now, and I'm at my wit's end. I know you all can empathyze with me when I say I want to be COMPLETELY free of this affliction. I can't go a day without picking. Medications have helped alleviate my generalized anxiety disorder, but they have done nothing to ease the urges to pick.

I have done extensive research on pathologic skin picking (I'm writing a research paper on it, so I'm familiar with most of the current studies on it). I think my next step needs to center around behavior modification, but I don't know where to begin.

What do you all do psysically to train yourself to stop picking (eg keeping a picking log, performing competing behaviors, etc)? How successful have they been?

Regards,

MsBlueSky