Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
CarlaK

Need help!

I'm new to the forums, hello! Unfortunately, I can't say I'm new to acne. . . .

So, I've had really bad acne since I was 13 years old and that kissed my baby smooth skin bye bye . . . and had huge acne all over and been called names and whatnot . . .

I skipped and tried several products . . . even Proactiv, that was my answer but at that time it was difficult to get my hands on them and had to resort to other brands and products. Anywho, none of them gave me the beautiful skin I wanted but it did help control the outbreak, well only the Proactiv . . . my face was always oily. . .

So now at 25 years, I've stopped getting huge acne like on my cheeks and forehead but acne scars are still there from years ago. I do get huge acne sometimes when my period approaches, but like one so anyways that said, I only washed my face with a cleanser and that was it. So, I have a lot of whiteheads and I want them gone . . . .

Oh yeah, previously, I did try to see a dermatologist at 18 years old and I was given topical antibiotic, which worked like magic but of course, it had alcohol in it and made me choke while treating my face . . . however, I stopped using it since I stopped getting huge acne so often and was given Differin . . . . wow this made me severely depressed from purging because I don't get huge acne so often and took me back to my teen years . . . so I stopped even though I've read about glowing great skin after the purging phase . . . . it was too emotional and I didn't want to leave the house and lost any ounce of confidence I had . . .

Long story short . . . I'm now a bit clueless on what to do with my skin . . . . I'm using a crappy cleanser (Cetaphil All skin types and of course it contains SLS), I've tried other cleansers but a lot of them just make me feel dry . . . . I do want to change it though.