Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
hamleys

Oily Skin, Should I wash it?!

First off...

Hi everyone. First post, although have been reading here on and off for a while (over several years) whenever my spots get bad enough for me to warrant scouring the internet for treatments!

I have a few questions:

1) I have been using BP on my face for a few years now,

- first in the form of quinoderm (10 % BP i used to apply to single spots only),

- since last summer i've used Duac (a clindamycin and 5% BP mix for those that arent familiar)

And I have just started to use it in the recommended way as stated in the Regimen (albeit using duac for now until my 2.5% stuff comes).

Is it okay for me to start with the full amount of BP daily, i assume so as my face is well accustomed to it by now?

2) I've only been using the Regimen for the last couple of days, and had quite a chilled weekend at home and it has seemed to make a difference. Not necessarily visually yet in the number of spots I have, but I was never really moisturising well afterwards, and the addition of cetaphil moisturiser after the BP has made quite a difference to how my skin feels... less oily but at the same time not dry, i like it!.

However, today I was at college and it was quite warm, especially in my car with its dodgy air conditioning and I got home this afternoon and my face was a bit oily, particularly n my cheek bones. I'm not sure if i should rinse it (washing more than twice a day is bad so i hear) or in fact what i can do. I don't particularly want my face looking and feeling oily, but at the same time I know washing/rubbing could be counter-productive.

I have very high cheek bones and don't want to apply duac on there particularly as it's very close to my eyes and as i know from past experience can sting from the vapor.