Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
km03590

Going on accutane soon...

Hello! I've been a lurker or this message board for quite some time now, and this is my first time posting here.

First off I'd like to say that I am so glad that I stumbled upon this website about 6 months ago, it has really brought me hope that I will not have to suffer with acne for god knows how long, and seeing you guys improve with the help of accutane has helped me remain positive on those bad acne days.

I hope to start on accutane in a couple of months or so, and am extremely excited and nervous at the same time. I know that accutane is pretty much the only choice I have left, I've literally tried EVERYTHING, starting in the 6th grade (I'm a sophomore in college now). from the 6th grade to my sophomore year in high school, I would have called my acne mild to moderate. It was mostly just on my face, and no matter what I was using, it never really got any better, but it didn't get worse either. It wasn't fun, but I could deal with it. Then, around my junior year, it started getting worse. I started using a higher percentage of Benzol Peroxide (10%), which helped so much! I had just mild acne until the beginning of senior year in high school. My face wasn't too bad, but I had noticed that I was starting to get acne on my chest and back. So, I went to the derm and he took me off the benzol and had me start on salicylic acid and retinol. I started breaking out like crazy everywhere and while it eventually calmed down after months, my skin was nowhere near as clear as it was, and my chest and back were worse. needless to say, my self esteem pretty much plummeted.

By the end of my senior year, I was back on benzol peroxide, my acne was still worse than it was, but I figured that there was nothing left that I could do. That summer was the first summer that I didn't go swimming because I was too self conscious about my body acne. :(