Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
BeadyB

Is there any way to stop oily skin?

I've always had normal skin. If anything, it might be dry on occasion. I started getting acne this past year (I'm now 21 and female) and never really had it in the past, aside from the occasional pimple or two every month. Because I started breaking out, my derm said I needed to start washing my face twice a day which is normal, but honestly, its something I've never done before.

Yup, the only time I ever washed my face was shower or swimming. I never scrubbed it, and sometimes I would even sleep in my makeup. I never broke out from that. So my derm said my acne is hormonal.

So now, I wash my face 2X daily with Kavi sulfur soap (AQUA, the gentler one) and am also now on birth control.

MY NOSE IS SOOOOOOO OILY. I can't stand it. Is this from washing my face everyday? Because as I said before, my skin is NOT used to that. Or is it from the birth control, which is new, and my body hasn't adjusted to yet...

BTW it looks like sweat on my nose its so oily...

also, I don't moisturize. Can that help reduce oily skin?

My questions may seem dumb, but I'm new to this ordeal. Acne AND oily skin.....

MY NOSE IS SOOOOOOO OILY. I can't stand it. Is this from washing my face everyday? Because as I said before, my skin is NOT used to that.

You have it backwards: your skin would only be oily from notwashing it every day, not from washing it every day! ;)

No, almost certainly not. Despite the claims made on this forum for years, I don't know of any actual scientific evidence that moisturizing your skin has any effect, one way or the other, on the amount of sebum it produces. In fact, there's actually some medical evidence that there is no correlationat all between the two.