Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
KLynn

Accutane Newbie

Hey guys,

I'm new to this, and I'm also new to Accutane. I'm hoping I can get some advice from those who have gone through this first hand.

I'm into my third week of Accutane (today was day 18 to be exact), and it seems like my skin is breaking out like crazy! Honestly, I don't remember when, and if, it was ever this bad before! I've read many other people's posts about their experiences with this medication, and it seems like it is quite common for your acne to get worse before it gets better. I guess I just wanted to know how long this lasts for? And is it on and off throughout your course of Accutane treatment (ie: do you have several break outs, or is it normally just the one)?

I'm really hoping the worst passes by soon, because it's taking a huge toll on my life (as sad as that sounds). But I just feel too damn self conscious about my acne to go anywhere.

Any thoughts, opinions and experiences would be awesome,

For me the second month was worse than the first, and the third month was worse than the first and second combined. It's different for everybody. Some people stop breaking out completely and are clear by the 3rd month. I'm on my 4th and I still get a pimple here and there but its a BIG improvement since before I started. I can't really give you a date, but on average, from the third month on everything gets better.

I think it relates to dosage though. If you take a high dose right from the start you might skip the breakout because it stores up quicker in the body. The people that are on low dose courses have been breaking out almost right up to their last month. So maybe up the dosage if you can.

Hi Swits,