Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
GetRidOfMyScars

Pictures of my scars and a facial surgeon's assessment

Hey guys. I used to be a member here for quite a while but I forgot my old username and password. Anyway, I just went for a consultation for a "facial surgeon" (if you even can call her that) to assess my scars. Could you please tell me what you think of her assessment or if she is just bullshitting me to purchase an expensive Obagi regimen?

So the first couple of minutes were just introductions ("I am a facial surgeon blah blah blah). Then we started talking about my acne and considering I still have some minor acne (a breakout every 2 weeks or so), she suggested that I get a prescription for Minocin and a retinoid cream, which she would provide (fair enough). She then said that I need to purchase $500 worth of Obagi products consisting of a cleanser, toner, etc. to help clear up my skin. After that, we talked about my scars. I ask her if she performs subcision and punch grafting, she said 'no' and said that since I have tan skin, it has the potential to leave discoloration after surgery (is this true?). Then, she started talking about Fraxel Re:Store and I can expect about 80% improvement. She showed me some pictures of her patients who underwent fraxel, which were all great. When I asked her about stuff that I read saying that fraxel doesn't help with ice-pick scars and rolling scars, without ever going nearer than 3-4 feet from my face, she made an assessment that I don't have ice-pick scars. When I pointed to my right cheek (picture below), she said those were "shallow scars" and not ice-pick scars, if there was even a difference. Not once during that consultation did she even went near my face to examine it (is this normal for this type of consultation?).