Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

This is my first time opening up about my issue with acne. I have always bottled it up inside because the people around me never suffered from acne. They don't understand how I feel. I decided to turn to you guys because you probably understand.

I am twenty years old and I have suffered from acne since I was eleven. It was bad and still is although I do admit it probably did get a bit better. Ever since I started getting acne, I feel like I have zero self esteem. Friends, strangers, boyfriend, family, they would all put me down as if I don't already feel like shit. People would make fun of me, make mean remarks about my acne or offer "advice."

I was never considered pretty or anything along those lines. I feel insecure enough as it is because I find myself unattractive. To top that off, I have acne as well as scars / red marks. It's an ongoing battle that I assume I would have to live with for quite a while. My parents and relatives suffered from adult acne and I can only assume I got those genes as well. I don't know what I am exactly trying to say but there are times where I wish I wasn't alive. It's quite depressing.

*Sigh* I still remember when I was eleven wishing for my skin to clear up. Now I basically have given up on the thought of clearing up, it seems impossible. It would be easier for me to deal with if there weren't so many idiots who keep asking stupid questions such as, "Why do you have so much pimples?" or, "What do you use? You should stop eating junk food and drink more water. Try washing your face more." As if I need their fucking advice, I have tried basically everything and nothing works. So, thanks for pointing out something I already fucking know. As if I wasn't already fucking aware that I have acne on my face or scars on my face.

Friends, strangers, boyfriend, family,

I have neither of those.