Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Guest RoseAlly

One-month break from the pill?

Guest RoseAlly

Hey, everyone!

I just ended my 10-year stretch on the Ortho-Cyclen birth control pill. On a whim, my husband and I tried to conceive this past month (the timing would have been perfect--I would have delivered next June, and I'm a school teacher). However, I just started my period, so it's evident that we did not conceive this month.

Now, we're talking about waiting until next summer to try again (disability insurance won't kick in until January, and we may be going overseas in June). So I may go back on the pill starting this Sunday.

My question: What's the effect of going back on the pill after a one-month break? Will my face break out? So far, I haven't had any trouble...I've tried to be very cautious with supplements, and I've used a 10% BP face wash twice daily all month long. However, I know breakouts can show up six weeks later after a shift in hormones, so I'm still waiting to see the effects of this break.

Do you think it would be better to stay off the pill and just use alternative birth control methods until next summer?

Any thoughts and shared experiences are appreciated. Thank you!