Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Just wondering if anyone here is in their mid to late 20s and what your experience with battling adult acne has been, what worked for you, etc. I am 25 and my acne is not severe, but I generally have 3 or 4 of the large deep painful pimples (cystic?) on my chin/mouth area all the time. My derm has recommended accutane to me before and now I'm really starting to consider it, but I don't know how I'd pay for it - I'm a fulltime student and on the state health insurance plan which doesn't cover "cosmetic" treatments. I'm hesitant to start a topical/cleanser program because my schedule makes it difficult to be consistant. I've never had help from birthcontrol and although antibiotics did help me (Minocycline), it makes the pill less effective so I had to ditch it.

Anyway, would be nice to hear from some people that are in their mid to late 20s and dealing with this, I know I'm not the only one out there who didn't 'out grow' it. I think mine is worse then it was when I was a teen :angry:

I am 25 and have acne, I would call mine moderate with usually 3-4 active spots at a time, they are usually large red spots that look yuck.

Have you considered Dan's regimen? Maybe doing it just once a day before bed to start with?

I'm 27 and usually had two or three active cysts on my chin at any given time. SInce starting Dan's regimen I only get maybe one every two weeks or so and they go away a lot quicker. It's really helped me. I agree, I had very mild acne as a teen and now it more moderate, it's so frustrating! I thought now I wouldn't have to use any products on my face except wrinkle cream:)