Jump to content
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

So any food with the word wheat should be avoided?

Recommended Posts

At first I thought only foods with 'wheat gluten' should be avoided, but now I read 'wheat flour' should be avoided as well? I'm a complete novice when it comes to acne dieting, so I'm pretty clueless. Does anything containing wheat also contain wheat gluten? Or what?

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

I really don't think it would affect you unless you know you're allergic too. And in that case, avoid it -- but it doesn't affect the acne of most people.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Well you don't know if it affects you until you try it. You can start by just avoiding the obvious ones which would be Wheat or "Flour" breads, pasta, cakes, cookies, etc. and see what happens. However when I did this, I avoided everything that I knew contained wheat or looked like it did except for Soy Sauce. Now I avoid even Soy Sauce and when I want that I used 100% Soy Sauce as the other stuff adds wheat.

What you want to do is decide what you are avoiding. You can avoid Wheat or you can avoid Gluten. Gluten is more inclusive involving Wheat, Rye, Barely and Oats (???). Either way, you want to look for things that say Wheat or Gluten on them, unless it says Corn Gluten (which is usually safe). You want to avoid Wheat Starch, Wheat gluten, Hydrolyzed Wheat protein, wheat flour, refined flour, durum, miso, matza, semolina, Spelt, etc. Wheat has many varieties so you want to look up the most prevelant ones.

Basically if it says flour, it will always be wheat flour, unless it specifies otherwise.

When eating out I ask the waiters if a food I want contains wheat. If they don't know, they usually will go and find out for me and sometimes they even let me see the package. This applies to sauces, gravies, soups as well. Basic rule of them is that if its see through it probably doesn't have Flour (be it wheat, rice, corn, etc) in it. Yet you can always ask to be certain.

There's a lot to this, but I took it one leap or jump at a time. Every few months I would step up my avoidances. There's lots of really great tasting Wheat Free/Gluten Free substitutes that you can try eating now while you are eliminateing wheat. It didnt affect me doing this, but it may or may not effect you. Or you can just go without wheat for at least 4 weeks and see how you feel.

Hope this helps =)

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Personalized Advice Quiz - All of Acne.org in just a few minutes