Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Bijouie

Sarah's Battle for Porcelain Skin

Hi, all!

I've always struggled with my blemishes. I'm just a sophomore in high school right now and every girl in my grade has perfect skin. And it makes me feel so jealous and mad and why do I, of all people, have acne?

My blemishes are all due to heredity. My father has pretty bad skin - filled to the brim with red scars and purple veins. It's not attractive - let me tell you now - and I really don't want to end up that way. So that's why I'm on Accutane.

My acne is moderate. When I was younger [6-8th grade] all of my zits were focused on my forehead but now they've moved on down to my cheeks. I took a bout on Bactrum and it cleared up the whole upper portion of my face, which I'm thankful for.

Now I want everything else to clear up.

Nevertheless, I know that this medicine has serious side effects. I've read about hair loss, hearing voices, seeing things, depression... and this all worries me. I mean, I don't know the people who post personally, but when I think about myself having to go through all of that, it scares me senseless. Especially the hair loss...

But I will stay positive! I'm not here to be negative - no sir - I'm just hear to let you lovely people know about my battle with acne.

Anyways, today is my second day on Accutane. My head feels heavy but everything else is fine. No dry skin yet; though my lips are just a tad bit chapped.

I'm prepared for the worst; armed with my cherry chapstick and moisturizer. I'm just waiting for the dryness to come because it is an inevitable.

And just a note on my acne, it seems better today! Which makes me all sorts of happy (:

I will let you know tomorrow how I feel! I hope everyone is having a lovely day.

- Sarah.