Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
ehstern

Going to derm tomorrow...what to expect?

After reading this site for a few years in response to my moderate to severe acne, I've finally taken the plunge.

I'm a college student (rising junior to be specific) and have, like many of you, suffered from acne for many of my teenage years. While I never dealt with severe acne in high school, my skin certainly wasn't clear either. Now, as I look forward to my third year of college, my acne is getting worse. I've never before had as many whiteheads and pimples on my face at one time as I do now. And let me tell you...it sucks. Waking up each morning to see acne staring at me in the mirror is downright depressing.

I've tried multiple rx's throughout the years, none of which have helped. Thus, I've finally decided to seek out an accutane prescription.

I'll be going to the derm tomorrow afternoon asking for accutane. It will be my first visit to this derm but I'm hoping I am able to convey my strong desire to go on tane.

Anyways, if he does indeed agree to put me on accuane, what is the timeline for getting my prescription? What is and how long does the iPledge process take? I also have to get blood work done before, correct?

Basically, if I go to the derm tomorrow and the verdict is accutane, when can I expect to begin my cycle?

Thanks for any help I might get...as scary as the side effects of accutane are, I'm more excited to go on the drug than I could've ever imagined. The thought of having clear skin on the horizon, albeit 5 months away, is incredibly appealing.