Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
gwennybear

My little accutane log!

Hello everyone :D

First up i'm Gwen and from Wales, UK. I've been battling with acne for about 9 years. I've gone through topical treatments like isotrex and differin, antibiotics like minocycline, doxycycline, lymecycline and minocycline again- all antibiotics worked wonders apart from lymecycline. Starting 2007 I also went on Dianette which I am still on. Problem is, every time I finished an antibiotic course my acne came back like never before!! My doctor said it was time to put an end to this once and for all, so I ditched minocycline in favour of roaccutane!

I'm not sure how to describe my acne.. :think: I have a LOT of blackheads covering my nose, large pores either side of my nose.. erm, I generally get non-cystic but quite large whiteheads most of the time, mainly on my cheeks and jaw. No acne at all on my forehead but still have large pores there and occasional blackheads. I also have pin-prick like scaring on both of my temple areas, and dark marks on my cheeks from where nasty whiteheads have scarred. I'm also prone to breakouts along my jaw area. I have no acne anywhere else- used to have bacne but the good old antib's seemed to sort that out! :dance:

I went to my dermatologist on Tuesday 13th July '10, with fairly good skin- but this is only because of minocycline of course! Anyway, i'm taking a 20mg tablet twice a day, and started on that day. I know it's taken me a while to set up this blog but i've been keeping track of whats going on:

Day 1

Only took evening dose this day! Had already eaten a few hours before so I thought I should take tablet with milk which was quite annoying as I cannot stand the stuff! :snooty:

Day 7