Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
40 oz 2 Freedom

New to this board,couple of Qs :D

Im new to this message board,and so far it is great,its good that i can read about experiences from other users,and i hope i can help other people as well as I hope they can help me.

ok,i have had acne for about 3 and a half years(at one time severe,now moderate),long story short,i went to the derm in june and he did nothing for me,he wanted to try things out,and i had 3 months of vacation to treat it,i went to my family doctor,and she prescribed doxycycline,retin-a,and clindamycin,i started monday June 21st,its going to be 6 weeks on monday.I have seen an improvement since i started the medications,but i want to know if anyone has had similar or same experiences with this kind of medication and if it has helped?

I have noticed a couple of new blemishes,a little redness,on my face,and im going into my 6th week,to tell you the truth i feel a little disencouraged,but I know it takes time,and my doctor said that it would be about 6 months until my face is as clear as it is under my eyes,I would complete full 6 months in Decemeber.any advice?thanks in advance :smile:

Well, patience is the key to improvement. It can take up to a year for you to have perfectly clear skin, in you follow whatever regimen to get clear, to a T. I've tried Minocycline, it worked and cleared me up, but as soon as I finished the course, the acne came back. It was only a defer of the acne over the course of medication. Anyway, I still continued to break out until I found this site. I tried the Regimen, it's working really well, I'm practically clear, just have the acne marks and scars from previous breakouts, which will clear over time.