Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

hi there,

this is my first time doing research on the internet about acne, and this is the first website that i've come across. i'm really desperate to get rid of my acne, which is on my chest, back and t-zone. i've tried lots of things over the past 4 years such as exfoliants (they always seemed to work the best), spot gels, drying face washes, anti biotic gels, you name it, if it's over the counter, i've tried it. i've also tried about 3 antibiotic gels from doctors.

my acne is moderate - it's not too bad but it really gets me down. it especially got me down when i finally convinced my parents to take me to the doctor with it. thinking that the doctor would prescribe something that i've never tried before that was strong, i was surprised when he acted dismissive and said 'there's really no cure. here's an antibiotic for it" i was so upset, how could he just say that? he did say that going on the pill helps, but he didn't even discuss that option with me.

so i've been using this antibiotic gel for 2 weeks now, and i've been exposed to a lot of sun. i didn't want to use sunscreen because the sun seemed to improve my acne and sunscreen seems to be very greasy, which might clog my pores. overall, there hasn't been a major improvement in my acne yet. i wasn't expecting one, since i've used various gels like the doctor prescribed me before, and i wash my face twice a day. i do have a habit of touching my face though, which i must get out of.

the spots on my face are like small cysts. some last about a week, others go after a day or three. everytime a spot clears up, a new one comes along before the irritation cools down. it's really getting me down, i've got my prom in a few weeks and i was so sure that i'd be rid of my acne by then, but now i'm not so sure.