Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Hi Everyone,

I have been reading the board for a while and finally decided to sign up to get some of your opinions and feedback.

I will give you a little on my history. I have never really had any major battles with acne until this past March when I started to get closed comedones.

When I was about 18 I had some whiteheads and the doctor put me on diane and the problem was gone within a month or two. Since then I had used ProActive to maintain my skin which was always glowing and healthy with the occasional pimple. However it was very oily.

I had been using proactive for many years and thought that now that I am older I should stop and try some more mature products... I started the Clinque 3-step system this past February and within a few days I had whiteheads starting to pop up. The people that worked at Clinque told me it was normal and I should keep using it and it was just my skin purging. I tried it for about a month and it made my skin even more oily and whiteheads were all over my forehead and started on my jawline too. Since then the problem got increasingly worse even though I went back onto proactiv for a little while.

At this point I decided to see the doctor. She prescribed me antibiotics - which i now realize was pointless since i did not have any inflamed acne at that point. It didn't help at all. I went back to her and she prescribed diane 35 (cyestra 35) and referred me to an acne clinic. This was about 3 months ago.

Here's my routine now:

Morning:

Wash with cetaphil for oily skin

Wait 10 min

Apply Benzaclin to affected areas and let dry

Apply Neutrogena sensitive skin moisturizer

Apply Neutrogena Dry Touch Sun Block SPF 30

I am now using L'oreal concealer for marks and Bare Minerals make-up to complete the look

Evening:

Wash with cetaphil for oily skin

Sweep with Proactive toner when very flaky to exfoliate dead skin

Wait 10 min