Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
hizzystizzy

acupuncture for acne

i joined this website just so i could post on this topic...i struggled with pretty severe acne on my face, chest, stomach, arms, and back during puberty. at 15, i took accutane, and my acne was under control until about 3 years ago (i'm 29 now). i was working full-time and going to grad school full-time, so i assumed that stress had brought it back on, first on my face, and then it slowly spread over my upper body again. but i graduated from grad school about a year ago, and have seen no improvement, even though my stress has drastically reduced. i saw a few dermatologists, and after failing on various birth controls and your run-of-the-mill topical and oral rx's, all wanted me to do another round of accutane...but at around $600/mo since my insurance doesn't cover it, that wasn't an option. several of my friends and family members have had relief from their various ailments using acupuncture, so i figured, what the heck. i had my first session yesterday, and i was AMAZED at the immediate results i saw! he treated me for "internal heat," and just by looking at my tongue and ears, was able to tell me about other physical issues i've been having that he says are the actual cause of my acne. before i even left the acupuncturist's office, he showed me in the mirror that my inflammation and redness were improved...my skin actually looked like it was starting to glow! this morning, a little more than 12 hours later, there is MARKED improvement in my acne! my pimples look smaller...some small zits i had yesterday are completely GONE today! redness and inflammation are about 75% better! i'm very hopeful that this will be a good solution to my acne issues! has anyone else had experiences with acupuncture?? i'd just like to know what your experiences were and how it worked for you! thanks!