Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Nikki9

How I've cleared up

Good Morning! I've never posted to these boards before, though I have been scouring them for information for a couple of years. I am 34 years old and have been struggling with acne for 20 years. Over the last two years, it has been especially bad and I have been desperate fo finally be done with this! Each year I was more embarrassed about my situation. It's difficult to deal with acne at any age but the older I got, the less I felt I could be taken seriously in my professional career when my face was broken out like a teenagers.

I saw a dermatologist and was given spironlactone and Retin-A. It seemed to make a very slight difference but my face still looked horrible. Starting last November, I adopted several of the dietary changes highlighted in the diet section of this message board. Specifically, I cut out milk products and started taking zinc and fish oil pills. I am a vegetarian so I was already getting plenty of fruits and vegetables in my diet. These dietary changes seemed to make my skin have better tone and have smaller pores but I did not notice a change in the number of breakouts that I was experiencing.

About six weeks ago, I had a horrible breakout and several of the spots would bleed whenever I washed my face. I quit using my natural face scrub because I figured the lightest touch with soap would have the least likelihood of removing the delicate skin that was healing around some of the terrible spots. Within a couple of weeks, my skin had changed pretty significantly. I have only had one new spot since I quit using scrub. It's only been six weeks so I am hesitant to think that I'm cured but I have NEVER had even a couple of days without new spots so I am tentatively hopeful.