Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

So im pretty scrawny 135Lbs and 5ft 11in ! I want to build up muscle and just bulk up abit. Im almost a carbon copy of my dad and he said he put on a stone of muscle when he was a bit older than me.

Im sure I read that working out and sweating causes acne, is this true? Also I would probably be eating lots of foods high in protein. So anyways if it does cause breakouts is it on the face or back where its been rubbing?

Also for people that are working out do you have any tecniques? Im a absolute novice when it comes down to it. Im 17 aswell.

Thanks guys

I too have been trying too gain some mass over the last 3 weeks. Been working out, eating at least my body weight in protein (in grams) each day, and been sweating alot etc. Havent seen any increase in acne really at all.

Your sebaceous glands (where acne starts) and your sweating glands are totally separate on your face, so it is not possible for sweating to interfere with acne. However, wiping your face to get rid of sweat can cause acne as you are causing irritation, so make sure you don't do that! smile.gif But yeah, lift away!

Dan told me this a while back: You can screw yourself up if you use the wrong technique, so get a personal trainer for like 3 sessions to show you exactly how to do each exercise, then you'll be doing it correctly from the off. Good luck!

Or get a friend who knows how to do it. In High School, I had friends who were really into lifting that would teach my proper technique. Like a PE teacher but less intimidating.

Also for people that are working out do you have any tecniques? Im a absolute novice when it comes down to it. Im 17 aswell.

If you want to get big and strong here are some tips... From the top of my head:

Eat a lot of protein. You should get about 1g-1.5g for every pound of your body weight.