Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Kali8

Will Accutane Affect College Performance? PLEASE HELP

While reading the posts, I have noticed that many members report a cloudy mind while on the drug in addition to fatigue. I'm a rising sophomore attending a top 20 Uni on a full-tuition merit scholarship and take academics VERY seriously. I plan to begin accutane over the summer, during which I will be doing research in which dexterity and keen vision are quite important. The last 3 months of treatment, however, will be during the school year.

I am willing to sacrifice a lot to rid my PERSISTENT mild acne, but not my intellect. How bad was this "cloudy mind", and did this resolve soon after treatment stopped?

Any advise is appreciated. Thank you

I have only been on it a few days so I don't know yet, but I advise you to TELL YOUR PROFESSORS you are on a medication that can affect your mind/moods. Accutane is only a temporary treatment, and if I were you I would want my teachers to know any cloudiness or loss of focus is only temporary and due to a prescription, not that I lost focus or interest in my work.

Don't let your teachers come to their own conclusions on why you might not be doing as well as usual, if that does happen. A professor who just assumes you've changed priorites or don't care as much about school is not going to be as pleasant as one who understands what you're going through and the fact that this pill is affecting you in ways you have little control over!

Congrats on being in a top 20 school!

Not as much as drinking, partying, and drugs will. If you take your stuff seriously, which it sounds like you do, you should breeze through it accutane or no accutane.