Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
brisk

Noobs needing some advice...

Hey,

So I believe this is my first time posting.

But my situation is I have had acne for about 4 years.

Mild now.

My derm said I don't look so bad with the occasional breakouts but if I want no more breakouts and clear my skin, try accutane...since I tried almost every topical and antibiotic there is with no luck.

So I was wondering, if you guys think that accutane is worth it for mild acne?

It seems like most people are taking accutane for moderate to severe acne due to the side effects.

Please help! Thanks in advance!

bad much does acne effect your life. If so it's worth it, if not no.

your the judge.

i would stay away from accutane. There are so many more safer ways to control acne. If i knew this 15 years ago, i wouldnt have all these scars on my face.

Thanks for the replies.

This is so hard to choose.

I want this acne to be gone, and the dr. said accutane is the only thing that is left for me that I didn't try.

But the side effects...hmmm

Accutane causes scaring?

I heard about hair thinning and loss, but when i asked my doctor and other doctors, they said they never heard of anyone experience hair thinning/loss...is that true?

Thanks in advance again!

I had a bad initial breakout for almost one month prior to becoming to clear from accutane. That breakout has caused me scars that i still have today which is 12 years later. Also for me i became very depressed and wanted to kill myself, much later on, i heard on the news accutane can make you have suicidal thoughts. But still to this day, im not sure if it was the accutane that was making me feel suicidal or whether it was because my face was so bad from the inital breakout. I do recall my hair becoming slight thinner but right now its ok. Although i did become clear at the end of the accutane treatment, my acne came back with a vengence right after.

Thanks for your reply.