Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
KristieRS

Organic Milk, Fake Sugars and Oregon Grape Root

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to this, so I thought I'd share some things I've discovered over the years that have worked for me. I don't know if these have been shared in other posts, I haven't had time to read all of them yet. Just thought I'd try to be helpful :D I'm 26 and had acne on and off since I was 13. I get cycstic ance on my cheeks and thats it and it seems to be mostly hormonal so if that sounds like you, these ideas might work for you as well.

Organic Milk - I read a study about boys ages 13-24 drinking milk and it seemed the boys who drank more milk vs boys who drank none had worse acne. So I thought it's either the fat or the hormones. So I started drinking organic milk and within a week I saw an improvement, a notiveable improvement. Then after about 7 months, I tried a gallon of regular milk...acne. At least 3 bumps. I'm pretty sure if you have hormone related acne, if you switch to organic dairy, you will see a pretty good improvement.

Aspratame - This one I just kinda figured out on my own. I don't drink diet sodas ever, but I had gained a few during some time on unemployment so I started drinking diet Dr. Pepper. The next day, I broke out. I finished the 12 pack of soda, the acne was more inflamed. I stopped, they went away. I tried this every few months when my skin was clear, and I would break out with 12 hours of drinking it. Don't know if this is with everyone, but I cut all of it out of my diet. Good alternative is stevia or agave.