Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
cless4736

Major Break-Out Help!

I am in highschool and started D. Kern's regimen in March of 2008 when I was a freshman. After a STRICT two months with it, my skin cleared up though I had dryness. Up until December of 2009 my skin was immaculate. It was clear and I wore no face makeup. This December I started getting small bouts of pimples. Then around the beginning of February I had huge under the skin pimples that hurt when you touch them and barely come to the surface. I was popping white heads and wearing concealer and very self concious, the regimen seemed to have stopped working. I went to the dermatologist for back acnce I had and she gave me an azelaic acid cream to put on my back after cleansing with proactiv benzoyl peroxide cleanser; I mentioned my face problems and she said to use the cream on my face as well in exchange of the benzoyl peroxide cream I was using.

It took me a week of pondering to finally switch and use the product on my face because I was so leery of getting off D. Kern's regimen. After a few weeks of the product on my face, I jumped ship because my deep skin hurting pimples got worse. I was left with no regimen and deeply confused as to what to do. So, I tried Clinique's three step system in three. I used their cleanser, 3 clarifying lotion, bp 2.5%, and cetaphyl lotion. Three weeks later: major break out on my forehead...the one area that has NEVER broken out. EVER. So here I am, currently using clinique's cleanser, 3 clarifying lotion, azelaic acid cream(recent switch over the past week), and cetaphyl lotion.

I just started birth control pills to help with my irregular periods, so I will hopefully see results from that in a few months; but, I need major help with my face. It is red, broken out, dry, irritated and nothing is helping. Do I stick with my regimen from the last week? Switch regimens completely? Help Please!