Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Dogend

49 Year old male after 1 week on the treatment

Hi All,

I'm nearly 50, I've had cystic breakouts routinely all my adult life, nothing horrendous, nothing that stops traffic, but enough to really p me off.

Strangely, I'd get 90% of them on the chin area, the jaw line or below my bottom lip. If I grew a generous goatee, I could probably hide most of them, but I hate beards, especially grey ones!

I'm a freelance IT consultant, I work with some major companies who trust me to work on their company computer networks, and I use to dread those brightly lit meeting rooms, face to face across the table with everyone looking at the painful cysts developing on the chin. I've had times where I'd squeeze a white head in the car 5 mins before the meeting, so at least it was red and not white.

I've tried the off-the-shelf stuff mostly, and early last year the doctor put me on Tetracycline, this did work for about 6 months but then stopped, so she switched me to Minocycline, she also booked me a visit to the dermatologist. I had to wait 8 weeks for an appointment.

I'd planned to beg for Accutane but the Minocycline was helping enough for her to persuade me to persist with it.

The Minocycline was effective on those painful, deep spots but, as before, after about 4 months I started to notice the chin spots returning, along with a rash of small white heads on the front of my chin under my lips.

I've made another appointment now to see the derm but at the same time I ordered the treatment starter kit from Dan, it took a few days to arrive in the UK, but I started using it last week and WOW, I've very impressed!!!!!!