Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
marinakin

Started Accutane - Scared about side effects!

Hi guys,

i've just joined the site as it's my first time taking Accutane and i'm in need of someone to chat to in a similar position! It's scary as hell taking this drug when i know how bad the potential side effects can be!!!!

A bit about me, i have suffered with acne since i was 17 and i am now 29. It's been a long battle trying antibiotics, Differin, Isotrex, BP and spending thousands on laser and light treatments (which the results never lasted). I have finally got the the end of the line and can't handle the way my acne makes me feel any longer. I have mild to moderate persistant acne which on a good day consists of around 3 or 4 smallish red spots. On a bad day this develops into cyst like spots around my chin and on my cheeks. I have been left with quite a few red marks from old lesions and squeezing. My problem is i cannot stop squeezing when i get down about it!!! My skin has ruined relationships, made me stay home from uni and work and even hide from friends and family when it gets bad. It's incredibly embarrassing suffering from this still at 29. I thought in time it would disappear, but i am one of the unlucky ones i guess.

I'm on day 4 of accutane and feeling ok apart from a few headaches and aching joints. My worry is the posts i've read about people suffering hair loss and joint pain which lasts for years!!! I would rather deal with my acne than lose my hair so i'm praying this doesn't happen to me!

At the moment i am seriously considering if i should continue on Roaccutane or give up before i get the possible dreaded effects.

Any advice would be much appreciated!

Thanks

xxx

Hiii! I'm on the exact same boat as you :)

Just became a member after lurking for a few years and started accutane 40mg 4 days ago. It'll be interesting to see how our experiences of it differ (or not.)