Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Kosmic

How do you take your spiro?

Hi

I am an aldactone/spiro newbie and am wondering what you have found is the best way to administer your spiro to reduce the side effects? I understand it is good to take at the same time everyday but has anyone found that side effects are less when you take two dosages (am & pm) or is it better to take the full dose at night etc?

I have started off on 50mg (25mg in am, 25mg in pm). My derm wants me to take 100mg but I am so worried about taking it in the first place. I have taken it for 7 days and am feeling a little tired. However, I remain optimistic because of all the positive results other people have had.

I appreciate you letting me know what you have found has worked for you.

Thanks!

Edited by Kosmic

Hi

I am an aldactone/spiro newbie and am wondering what you have found is the best way to administer your spiro to reduce the side effects? I understand it is good to take at the same time everyday but has anyone found that side effects are less when you take two dosages (am & pm) or is it better to take the full dose at night etc?

I have started off on 50mg (25mg in am, 25mg in pm). My derm wants me to take 100mg but I am so worried about taking it in the first place. I have taken it for 7 days and am feeling a little tired. However, I remain optimistic because of all the positive results other people have had.

I appreciate you letting me know what you have found has worked for you.

Thanks!

i take only 25 mg in the morning so if it works as a diuretic i won't have to pee at night. it worked for me within a week, clearing all my pimples and no more oiliness. this is because my acne and hirsutism are caused by high androgen levels. i think if it is prescribed for non-high androgen acne it will not have the same effect.

Thanks for replying falafel! Is spiro working for you on 25mg?