Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
opfah

got milk? got acne?

Hallo,

i`m struggling for 3 years with mild to moderate acne. For treatment of this condition i have been using skinoren(azelaic acid) since 5 months ago with good results, but it doesn t clear me up 100%. Nevertheless i was always looking for a root cause of acne. last summer i was convinced that i have candida, because i read that book and made that silly cure attempt. as a result my skin improved slighltly, but not a miracle at all. afterwards skin condition went back to normal. i don t believe in that candida thing and still don t do it . since that unsuccessful attempt, i had doubts that diet and acne can be linked, just as it can often been read on dermatological sites.

Recently i asked myself, what discriminates my lifestyle from others, because most people in my age (21) don t have any acne problems. there was one thing that differs me from other people:

my milk consumption!

i drink every day a lot of milk and eat a lot of cheese!

so i googled for a link between acne annd milk and found a study, that milk contains insulin like growth factor and that the intake of milk increases the serum concentration of igf1 in blood. igf1 stimulates oil glands. meat also contains igf1, but if it is cooked the igf1 becomes inactive. the same applys to milk. in any way intensively heated milk or cheese is harmless.

so since two weeks ago, i quit "raw" milk products and believe to have a significant improvement.

But I m still unsure, so i wanted to hear from your experiences with milk.

Besides i would like to start a little experiment, for that i will need a few volunteers with a acne condition.

The volunteers build two groups:

The first group doesn t take any "raw milk" products for 4 weeks.

The second group does eat a lot of cheese,milk,curd etc. for 4 weeks.

Participant who believe in a link between acne and milk should go into group 1