Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Mr President

Accutane and Scarring

Hey all,

I've been roaming these forums for what feels like months now. I've been using BP for about 7 years and its left me with uneven skin and pitted skin. Not terrible, but in the scheme of things probably moderate scarring. Every time ive seen a dermatologist they have suggested accutane.

I've always stayed clear of it due to the comments here that it leads to even more scarring and this has always worried me. I've been breaking out a lot lately with big red pimples that seem to be scarring quite a bit. I used to develop one or two a week. Now im developing 5-6 daily. Its been like this for the past five months. I've decided to take the plunge and just go on accutane. Does anyone have any advice? Any would be great.

I realise I may develop even more scarring and this is killing me inside. Overall though, it seems like the best bet - since im scarring anyway. I know im definitely not as good looking as I used to be and will probably develop even more scarring. Ah well whats are looks anyway, lol. I wonder if I use copper peptides whilst on it, i wouldnt scar? I really trust your input guys. Almost like family after all these months of posting.

Edited by cartwheeling_monkey

Well I would advise against it. I never scarred before accutane, but whilst I was on accutane every zit left a scar. Also after accutane, my skin is more prone to scarring than ever.

Oh and... yes, the breakouts aren't as bad as before, but they certainly aren't gone.

If you decide to go for it, take a low dose (like 10mg).