Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Amanda33

New and Clueless

I just made an account, and have no idea how to work this thing.

question:

just started accutane, DOES IT REALLY GET WORSE BEFORE IT GETS BETTER? over how long should i expect my face to go downhill?

I just made an account, and have no idea how to work this thing.

question:

just started accutane, DOES IT REALLY GET WORSE BEFORE IT GETS BETTER? over how long should i expect my face to go downhill?

Well, I'm on day 13 and my face has never looked so horrible. I'm still new at this so I'm not sure how long it will last. I'll let you know if I see any signs of improvement.....

Edited by Dez*

wow, I'm only on day 5 and nothing has changed yet. this makes me nervous!!! What mosturizer do you use?

Welcome to Acne.org, all three of you! : )

I've moved this thread to the Accutane Posts board, where I'm pretty sure you'll be able to find answers to all your questions.

And, Amanda33, did you get everything figured out? If you need help with your account, let me know. ; )

For me, it definitely got much worse before getting better. During month one, I didn't notice any changes really. Month two and three were both horrible. I had constant breakouts worse than I ever had before. Now I'm in the end of month four, and I finally feel like everything is going away.

I don't think my experiences were average though. From what I've heard, most people have a week or two of breakouts every now and again for the first month or two. Mine were pretty much constant during months two and three. I still worry that this is not going to go away completely.

I guess the point is: don't expect this drug to work miracles in the first few weeks. That way, when you do break out, you don't feel so let down. And if you happen to be one of those lucky people that start taking it and never break out again, you'll feel really great about it. ;)