Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Alli-G

Help with the regimen

Just to tell you a little about myself, I am 14, I live in a mild climate, and I have very sensitive skin. I have been batteling acne for 4 years. I just started the regimen about 30 minutes ago and now I am having some problems. I was fine until i put the BP on (I put on a third of a finger). Then my face started to burn a little, but not much. Ten minutes later I put the moisterizer on after washing my hands. Right after I applied the moisterizer, my face started to burn. My mom looked at it and told me it was really irritated. Thirty five minutes later, it is still burning. It hurts really bad. Should I stop taking the regimen??? HELP!

Hi and welcome.

Please read these two links. http://www.acne.org/faq.html#burn and http://www.acne.org/faq.html#moisturizer-sting

Let's be sure you didn't start out with too much bp at first. You should have only used about a pea sized blob to begin with (once daily) for week one. Be sure to wait the full time between steps. A little bit of irritation is normal, however if it should not be intense.

I would guess you started out with way too much BP. If you have extremely sensitive skin like you say, you should have never started out with 1/3 of a full fingers length. Dan only recommends a pea sized amount once a day to begin with. You may have to let you face heal for a few days, then start again but only using a SMALL amout, and slowly work your way up. It is common for the moisturizer to sting a little. That's because your face hasn't adjusted to the BP yet. However, it usually gets better within a few weeks.

The first week was like that for me....in the 3rd week now and sometimes it still burns for an extended period of time....it will pass...and then you can complain about the flaky/dryness like everyone else!!

Welcome to the regimen...