Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

I have heard people explain before that a lot of the time people will breakout when they first start using SA and they called it "purging". I am curious to know what this purging is like and if I am experiencing it or my skin just doesn't like SA and I should try to save my face while I can.

So, I've been using tea tree oil for the past many months with....ok success. I still was not happy enough with the results. In the past I've also tried BP which worked about the same as tea tree oil (I followed Dan's regimen). Yesterday, I had a huge breakout (still using tea tree oil) and I looked online at some products to try. I ended up getting:

Cetaphil Cleanser (which I already had, but started using again yesterday)

Clean and Clear Deep cleaning astringent .5% SA

St. Ives Fresh Skin Apricot Scrub Invigorating

Queen Helene Mint Julep Masque

Olay Complete All day UV Moisturizer SPF 15

Clean and clear Advantage acne spot treatment

Now, I first want to mention that in the past I have tried SA cleansers in the past, but I also broke out then and was too afraid to continue for very long. Well, I thought maybe my skin has changed or it was just purging and it would look better after sticking to it. Well, same thing is happening. I am breaking out like crazy. I am breaking out into decent sized red inflamed zits, many puss filled. I really don't care if it is "purging", but I am afraid that my skin is just breaking out from the SA. I mean just hours later when I go into the bathroom and look at my skin, more zits have already appeared and those that I put SA on earlier closed up again and are filled with puss again.

Does this sound normal at all? Or should I abandon ship and try to save the little bit of face I have left?

I really don't know about the "purging" but what I recommend is that you use a gentle cleanser, and save the SA for spot treatment.

Also its extremely important not to pick!