Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

I don't understand how almost everybody I know can eat fast food, junk food, sodas, etc every single day without exercising and have perfect skin.

I sacrifice SO MUCH to try to get my skin better.

I go to the gym 6 days a week. I spend lots of money on vitamins and supplements. I take vitamin A, zinc, fish oil, acidophilus, chromium, vitamin B6, and niacin every single day. I only eat fruits, veggies, salmon, etc (healthy as can be). I only drink water. I buy benzoyl peroxide all the time (why is this stuff so damn expensive?). I am a student and this is taking a toll on me financially.

My brother is 2 years older than me and his acne was already long gone when he was 22.

Now I have a huge cyst sitting on the left side of my face next to my nose, and another one forming on my right cheek. Not to mention the numerous whiteheads everywhere else.

I am considering stopping everything I am doing to try to get myself better because apparently this is a huge waste of time and money.

Sorry for the rant.

Hey,

I know exactly how you feel. Bugs me as well as I seem to be the only one in the family with acne problems. I've taken 3 types of oral antibiotics, Differin and Benzaclin over a couple years. I've suffered from acne about 5 years (off and on cystic type) Antibiotics would work pretty well for me although as soon as I get off of them it comes right back.

I made the decision to go on accutane and currently approaching month 2. My skin has improved, so I hope this will be the last drug I have to take. Knowing my luck it probably won't.

So depending on how bad it really is I think you have a lot of options. I understand though if you would rather not go through the routine of prescription meds.

Things may seem bad now but it will always get better.