Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
fashionjunkie231

Hadouken ------> Acne

My title says it all. For those of you who played Street Fighter when you were younger (I grew up with two older brothers), "hadouken" was the term/sound the street fighter made when throwing a energy/firey ball at the opponent. So yes acne, I am hadoukening you. Acne, prepare to die.

My background: I've been battling acne for 12 years. I'm now 23F, living in Los Angeles. Yes, that means I started breaking out at 11, in elementary school! Disaster! Whitehead after whitehead on my face, it was definately hormonal. High school wasn't as bad, I could cover up most of it with makeup. During college, I started getting cysts and major body acne (probably stress/hormone related). The cysts weren't horrendous, but at least 2 a month, but they were in the most obvious places! Grr! Right on the side of my nose, or right above my eyebrows. GRRR!! It was like having golf balls under my skin! Someone give me a club!

I've been to many dermatologists. The problem is, there are a lot of bad ones out there. Ones who don't understand, ones who don't care, ones who will just prescribe you crap to get you out. This past year and a half, I've found an amazing dermatologist who will actually listen to what I have to say, take into consideration all the over the counter products and prescriptions I've tried. She put me on Doryx (the brand version of doxycycline). 10 days into using Doryx, my body really started to clear. Then I hit a wall, broke out in a terrible rash. Grr.. there went my hopes.

Accutane: