Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Pyrat Dame

Looking for some advise ... please help.

Hello,

I am new to this message board but have poked around the site very lightly before. The reason I am here today is that I am asking for any and all advise and I'm hoping that maybe this message reaches people out there who may be experiencing the same problems I am.

For starters, let me give you a little back story. Warning, this post may be a bit long, but if you are willing to read it to the end, you have no idea how grateful I will be.

So, I am a 23-year-old young lady. My acne started probably a little after pueberty which was sort of delayed and severally messed up due to PCOS - Poly Cystic Ovarian Syndrome. If you are unfamiliar with this disorder, it basically means that my hormones are ALL kind of messed up. Some of the most common symptoms of this disorder are: ACNE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, irregular periods, excessive hair growth (and really NOT in the places a woman would enjoy), weight gain, difficulty losing weight, and the list goes on. Thankfully, I do not experience ALL these symptoms, however, acne has been one of the biggest ones. I have tried SEVERAL different products in the past, we'll say 10 years. For a while, benzol peroxide was working great. I used it in bar soap form. After about 3 years of using this product, I switched to Proactiv based on a friend's recommendation. This product was A GOD SEND for probably about 4 years? Also, I started birth control and that mixed with the proactiv ... I swear, I had the skin of a Disney princess. For the first time in my life, I felt that I looked pretty.