Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
dn7prh10

Proactiv Withdrawl Anyone?

I have been using Proactiv for the past 2-3 years with limited control over my acne...that is unless I missed a wash. In August of 2009 my face was clear and I decided it was time to quit Proactiv for good. Little did I know that by doing so my face would lash out at me and become the worst acne I have ever suffered from in my entire life (I've had acne for 10 years, I'm now 22). I started to get painful deep cysts and pustles...everything. The pain was so bad that I was popping Ibprofen everyday. I tried natural products...nothing was working to clear me up. So I reluctantly began Proactiv again, the process was excruciating...painful to wash and so forth. So now I'm weaning off the Proactiv with limited success. My question is for anyone with similar experience after quitting the addictive and destructive Proactiv...and if their acne ever cleared up after quitting? Is there ever going to be an end in sight?

Photo Log Showcasing Proactiv Backlash 2009-

post-119758-1262883558_thumb.jpg

post-119758-1262883715_thumb.jpg

post-119758-1262883859_thumb.jpg

Still need to upload December's photo...but you get the idea.

Edited by dn7prh10

Hello, I felt the same way too! I used to use Proactiv back in high school and it did helped me a lot. But as I gotta older, for some reason my face would get oily and tiny pimples would appeared... So I quit using this product and now use a different brand that helps me control my acne.

Here the products that I use, maybe this will help you too, worth a try:

I use a face mask that will dry up my pimples: Queen Helene - The Original Mint Julep Masque

My cleanser is Clean & Clean - Blackhead Clearing Scrub and my toner is Clean & Clear Deep Cleaning Astringent (for sensitive skin)

Now my acne medication that I use is Clean & Clear - Maximum Strength Persa-Gel 10 (10% Bezoyl Peroxide).