Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
crevin

Adult MALES with acnce-- DO YOU LIFT WEIGHTS?

I read a lot of stuff about acne in females being related to hormone "imbalances." So I was thinking about weight-lifting, which increases androgen production. I didn't start getting acne until I was about 18 or 19, and am now 25. I started lifting weights religiously when I was about 18 or so. Could I have messed up the hormone balance in my body? I have six siblings and am the only one with any acne problems. I am also the only one who lifts weights. I realize a lot of people who go to the gym don't have acne, but everyone's body is different. Maybe some of us can't handle the increase in androgen production brought about by strenuous weight lifting.

Just a thought--

Hey there! I have been lifting 3-4 times/week for about 3 years, but am currently nursing a torn pectoral. I don't think it has effected my acne, but had the same worries as you did when I started. Certain supplements are known to increase acne and those I stay away from.

I am keeping my fingers crossed, but I haven't gotten a single cyst on my chin or nose area in nearly three weeks. I haven't worked out in approximately a month. I was just thinking of how much stress and strain you put on your body when you lift weights and grit your teeth for that last rep-- and also all the androgen production you are stimulating by adding on muscle...

I'll keep you posted.

Nah it makes no difference for me. In fact working out seems to help. I think if I masturbate a lot and don't work out I break out, but if I workout it might counter something that results from masturbation, making breakouts less likely.

It def affected my acne. Either that or the increased Chicken/Dairy/Protein powder consumption. I wish I didn't set my eyes on the gym lol especially as I've lost a lot of my gains over the past 9 months.