Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

So, I've had acne for 6 years (I'm 19 now) and I am a Freshman in college. My acne is the worst on the sides of my chin, my forehead, and I have blackheads on my nose. I have tried over the counter Benzoyl peroxide (the Neutrogena on-the-spot and the Clean and Clear Persa Gel), I've tried the Obagi Treatments, and Clindamycin. None of it has worked and my acne is the worst it has been in 3 years and extremely persistent. There hasn't been a single day since it started when I have been completely clear (or even remotely close). I've been using JoJoba oil and trying to moisturize my skin back to normalcy after years of drying it out with all these products and even after weeks of doing nothing but moisturizing, my skin is still tight and gets flaky.

So, after all of this, I have decided to try a new dermatologist and am going to request to be put on Accutane. I don't consider myself to have severe acne but regardless, any type of acne is frustrating. I know it is for more severe cases, but i would consider mine to be moderate and worthy of some type of treatment other than these useless topicals.

So I came on here to ask for feedback/advice regarding this decision and if anyone has a similar situation to me or has had success with Accutane or another type of prescription. Please let me know, thanks!

Hey abc i know where your coming from and how frustrating it is, when you make an effort but the acne just keeps persisting and then shits on you by becoming worse. If you have tried everything, have no where else to turn, and are comfortable with the possible side effects of tane then go for it. Just dont forget all the bloodwork you need to do and the common reoccurrence of acne post-treatment, but chances are it will work. If your derm decides that you dont need it then he will probs prescribe anything from:

Azaelic acid- Ide go for Azelex or finacea

topical antibiotics- Ide go for Klaron