Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
TML

Major Depressive Disorder Diagnosis

Hi,

I'm currently in my 3rd year of university, majoring in Psychology and i took a course last year that covered mental health disorders, including depression of course. I feel that I could be diagnosed with Major Depressive Disorder as I have most of the symptoms and its persisted for a long time as well.

This relates to acne because, if acne is causing my depression (which i am certain it is because i've only been depressed since i started having trouble with my acne) then how do you treat the depression? If I will always be depressed as long as my acne is still there, then how can i be cured?

I've been on every acne medication possible, including accutane and I still feel terrible about myself, unworthy, and all the rest. I've also had therapies to reduce scarring which has done nothing for me either. I get panic attacks that result in my skin getting itchy and red just by people looking at me when I speak in small groups during classes.

Sorry for getting away from the topic, but my general question is:

How does someone conquer depression, if the reason they are depressed (acne/scarring) will never go away despite all attempts possible to get rid of it?

Hi,

I'm currently in my 3rd year of university, majoring in Psychology and i took a course last year that covered mental health disorders, including depression of course. I feel that I could be diagnosed with Major Depressive Disorder as I have most of the symptoms and its persisted for a long time as well.

This relates to acne because, if acne is causing my depression (which i am certain it is because i've only been depressed since i started having trouble with my acne) then how do you treat the depression? If I will always be depressed as long as my acne is still there, then how can i be cured?