Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Panic!!

Persistent Acne only on Cheeks??? Please Help

Hey Guys,

I'm a 29 year old male.....have had clear skin for the past several years aside from the occasional break out a few times a year.

However over the past 3-4 months I have had persistent acne only on my cheeks????

I went to a derm about 6 weeks ago and she immediately said my break outs were being caused by my moisturizer. What's weird about that is I've been using the same moisturizer for the past 7 years!!! My derm's response was a lot of times companies alter ingredients without mentioning it. She told me to immediately stop using the Neutrogena moisturizer and since my skin was running oily, to go without a moisturizer all together!!!

I tried this out for a few weeks and was still breaking out, although they were definitely smaller in size, again only on my cheeks. Its 1-2 pimples on the high part of my cheeks on both sides consistently.

I was washing my face with Cetaphil in the morning and Proactiv at night. My skin was starting to dry out so I called my derm and she recommended getting on Ceptahil's moisturizer. That immediately made the break outs return to their larger, painful size.

Ditched the moisturizer again and ditched the Proactiv in favor of SA. I was spot treating with BP at night and still using the Cetaphil wash in the morning.... STILL breaking out although they did reduce in size again.

I'm at a complete loss for what's causing this sudden acne???? I started to think it was ingrown hairs rather than acne since I have a beard and tend to get a few bumps from my beard trimmer.

To test this theory I haven't shaved all week and I'm still getting them ONLY ON MY CHEEKS!!! WEIRD!!! Although now its only been on the right side of my cheek.

Its really starting to get to me and causing a lot of frustration..... I haven't broke out like this consistently since I was 20!!!