Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
exchange

Western diet / grains and acne- potential proof?

Hey,

I just want to throw in my 2 cents.

I am an American exchange student living in Germany. I am 16, male, and am very busy with lots of stress, sports, and women at home in America. In Germany, I am completely on vacation. It's like yoga, I haven't though about anything to hard, and I really don't even have to do homework or anything because it doesn't count for me when I get home. (Leave it to the people who call themselves "educators", in American public systems.)

Anyway, as soon as I arrived in Germany, I noticed acne is a much more severe problem here- at least between everywhere I have been in America and the places I have been around Germany. Almost all youth suffer from acne, mild to severe, but I have only seen a few young people with clear skin.

I checked out the Paleo diet thing, and saw that processed foods could be considered problematic. Specifically I am thinking about processed grains and bread. The most major difference between Germany diet and my American diet is the prominence of grain in daily intake. In America, I eat fast food, fatty foods, and whatever sweets I want. I am a pretty involved athlete, so putting on weight would be difficult for me at this point in my life. I am a very competitive swimmer, and my diet has gone far in excess of 6000 calories a day in America. Often, I can eat a couple pounds of food in one sitting. In Germany, I have cleaned up my crappy American diet and cut out a lot of the things the American diet is famous for (mostly because its not available... lol)