Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
FreeMe!

Accutane Question Please Respond

HELLO!

I will start Accutane on Nov 25th, and I am sooooooo excited :dance:

I do have a few questions for some of you who have already taken Accutane, or are currently taking it...

1. How severe is the lack of concentration? Depression? Fatigue? and other side affects relating to mood?

I'm a pre-med student and I have 10 month baby boy..basically I have alot on my plate and I cant afford the loss of concentration, depression, or the cloudy thoughts I have heard about...

Is this common?

Are there ways I can prevent this? An anti-depressant?

Thanks for your time, and I will appreciate all the advice and help I could get ;)

I'm 4 days from being done my treatment and I though I have the attention span of a 5 year old at christmas, it was totally worth it. I had mild ADHD prior without medication, but Accutane definately exasperated that condition. It wasn't noticable at the beginning and has since improved, but months 3 & 4, I couldn't even stay tuned in to a 1/2 hour show. I did find that red bull helped me get through my exams (though my teeth feel that was a less than wise solution).

No depression here or emotional meltdowns. If anything I was much less anxious because I wasn't constantly washing and worrying about my face.

If you have good study habits now, I think you'll be okay. You might have a month or two where you really have to find a quiet, distraction free space to study in.