Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
HomeBoundGypsy

Substitute for 2% Milk?

Hi all, this is my first time posting in the Nutrition & Holistic Health forum, so hopefully this topic is in the right place. Recently I decided to stop dairy products to see if it would help with my acne. Except for a little butter & cheese I have stopped consuming dairy altogether. I have also stopped eating chocolate... (I do miss those reeses' & snicker bars though! Lol. :blush: ) And I have noticed significant improvement... my acne seems to have lessened considerably since. However dairy was a major part of my diet, and although I am switching & adjusting foods, it is still difficult and I do miss the dairy products. I have tried the Silk Soymilk, plain organic, and it's okay but the taste isn't so great.

So what I am asking is if any one could recommend substitutes for 2% percent milk? Any substitutes for other dairy products would be helpful as well... I've loved cheese, sour cream, & cottage cheese.

Thanks in advance, :wavey:

-HomeBoundGypsy

Rice milk, almond milk, and hemp milk are all good. Trader Joe's also makes a grain drink that is a good substitute in things like pancakes and cereal, I've found. As far as other dairy substitutes, I like coconut milk a lot in both kefir and ice cream.

You don't have to eliminate chocolate entirely- a bit of dark chocolate (70% or higher) is actually good for you, and a lot more delicious than milk chocolate IMO.

I'd say try one of the recommendations from QuirkyPixy. I'm not sure how they taste, though.

just don't try soy. It's highly allergenic to a lot of people and drinking it regularly has been linked with thyroid disease.

I think they make cheeses and sour cream with the afore mentioned milks, though they are probably VERY difficult to find outside of a health food store.