Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
donkey

How do I quit using Proactiv?

I've been using Proactiv for 11 years now (started at age 25). It worked OK for the first 4 years, never perfect, but it has gradually stopped working completely. Last week I decided to quit cold turkey. Within days I had about 30 new whiteheads and 4 cysts. I started getting acne at age 13 and the acne I have now after quitting Proactiv is worse than anything I have ever experienced. It's actually really shocking how bad it is. I've read similar stories from hundreds of other former Proactiv users. My question is, has anyone figured out a way to successfully quit using Proactiv without having such horrible effects? Here's what I've found so far. Any other advice would be very appreciated. I have searched the internet for hours and hours, and this is all I could find.

Thanks for your help.

www.ehow.com/how_4420018_stop-using-proactiv-solution.html

Edited by donkey

I don't think proactiv actually does anything. Nothing can be really achieved with 'a pea sized amount' of BP. What a f*cking joke. I laugh at Proactiv every morning and night while I slather 3 full pumps of BP on my face.

it's been 3 weeks since i saw my dermatologist. she suggested that i stop using proactive and prescribed doryx 150 mg which i take once a day, benzaclin gel during the day, and retin-a-micro 0.04% at night. this has done wonders for my skin. i've noticed in the past couple of days how soft it is and the pimples have significantly been reduced. i have to admit the first two weeks were pretty rough. i had been using proactive for almost two years and it wasn't that effective for me so i finally went to see a dermatologist.