Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
pastelpaas

Starting accutane...lots of questions!!

Hi everyone....I'm a newbie to this forum as of today! I'm 22 and have suffered with acne since I was 15, but it only recently started getting terrible. I started on accutane (amnesteem) 8 days ago. I'm alternating between 40 mg one day, 80 mg the next (60 mg avg). At first my derm wanted me on 80 mg/day but I'm only 112 pounds and was a little scared! I would classify my acne as moderate persistent, but with my scars it looks pretty severe.

Anyway my skin pretty much exploded over the past few days. Is this any indicator of if I'm going to suffer through my treatment? I'm SO afraid of the IB I hear so much about, because my skin is beyond sensitive and even the littlest zits leave horrible scars.

I also had an AWFUL time with Retin-a..it pretty much ruined my skin. Since the same type of mechanism is used for accutane (vitamin a), does this mean my skin is going to react in the same way?? AHH...

Also--I started getting super red yesterday. Just my face. It feels like a sunburn and gets worse esp when I apply lotion. PLEASE tell me this goes away and I'm not going to be a tomato forever! My skin is weirdly still greasy looking but when I try putting makeup on I flake really badly. I use bare minerals...any suggestions for stuff that won't peel off and look terrible? There is nooo way I'm going anywhere without makeup on. hah.

last but not least...does anyone know if pitted scars (boxcar-type) fade over time? I'm hoping by the end of the course of accutane my scars won't be as prominent...ahh sorry I have so many questions on one post!

hey,

It's comforting to hear someone that is in the same boat as me. I start Accutane this week, actually tomorrow morning (omg :dance: ) I get my first perscription! But I am waiting until after Halloween weekend to take my first pill because I don't want my liver to die!!