Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
crashoran

How to cook fish?

I'm a college student who has been used to eating fast food and microwave dinners for the past few years. My acne is terrible, so I want to change my eating habits around and eat more like non-westernized countries. Just lots of fruits and vegetables.

I just picked up a tilapia at the store. I looked online for recipes but they all tell me to add stuff that I don't want in my diet (mayonaise, butter, etc).

Can I just cook the tilapia in the oven without adding anything? I'm such a newbie at cooking...

I would suggest using a frying pan and cooking it using some coconut oil. You could add some organic spices (ones which are not irradiated) like cayenne pepper to give it some extra flavor. Please do not use vegetable oil to cook the fish!

I have some really good recipes at home that I can post for you later. I like to bake fish - its usually really easy and you often only need a few ingredients.

If you want to get the most benefit from adding fish to your diet, you'll probably want to do more salmon, tuna, mackerel - the fatty fishes are generally much healthier and are where you get the most omega-3's. I know salmon can be pricey, but its my favorite fish to cook!

BTW - you can always use olive oil in place of butter in a recipe.

For thicker fish like salmon, I usually poach, grill or broil. For tilapia, I'd pan fry, grill or broil. No mayo or bread crumbs, just a few spices, lemon juice, etc. Do you have a broiler in your oven? Or a grill pan or George Foreman-type grill?

Most supermarkets will steam cook any fish, like salmon, you buy from them, so you can have it done while you shop, and pick up some broccoli to steam to go with it for a quick meal.

And there are many recipes in the Food and Recipe thread under Important topics.